Maho | Prentice, LLP Attorneys at Law - personal injury attorneys
PERSONAL SERVICE
FROM LOCAL ATTORNEYS
FREE CONSULTATION | Call 24/7
805-962-1930

PLEASE NOTE: Due to COVID, our attorneys are working remotely. Please know we are completely accessible to new and existing clients. Through Zoom, FaceTime and audio calls we are able to deliver our superior legal service to new and existing clients, while maintaining the proper safety precautions.

What happens after injury in a rideshare vehicle?

| Nov 14, 2019 | Firm News | 0 comments

As ridesharing apps like Uber and Lyft have skyrocketed in popularity over the past several years, liability issues have arisen based on accidents involving these services and their vehicles. If you experienced an injury as a rideshare passenger, you may have some confusion about how to pursue compensation for your medical costs and lost wages. 

Learn more about rideshare auto accident liability in California. 

Seeking insurance compensation 

Ridesharing drivers may not have appropriate insurance to cover your injuries as a paying passenger. You can seek compensation through the driver’s insurer only when he or she has a commercial driving policy or a personal insurance policy with extra coverage for rideshare liability. If the driver only has a personal policy, the insurance company will likely deny your claim. 

The next possible avenue is coverage through the rideshare company’s third-party liability policy. Both Uber and Lyft cover up to $1 million in property damage and persona injury beyond the settlement offered by the driver’s policy. 

Pursuing third-party fault 

If another driver caused the accident in which you suffered an injury, you can seek settlement through his or her insurance company. When that driver’s policy does not cover the extent of your injuries, you can also seek coverage from Lyft or Uber. Both companies have up to $1 million in coverage for damage and injuries caused by uninsured and underinsured drivers. 

Filing a lawsuit 

California law maintains a two-year statute of limitations for auto accident injury lawsuits. You must file a claim within two years of the incident. For this reason, acting quickly after a car accident is essential to get coverage for the full extent of damages. Keep in mind that you will likely use some of that two-year time period to negotiate with the insurance company. According to state law, you can sue anyone who shares a percentage of fault for the accident. 

When an auto accident injury leaves you unable to work and/or disabled, help is available. You may be able to recoup your actual costs and receive damages for pain and suffering.